Finalists all: Sandy Evans, Marc Hannaford, Andrea Keller, Jamie Oehlers, Jeremy Rose


APRA (Australasian Performing Right Association) and the AMC (Australian Music Centre) have announced the finalists for the 2013 Art Music Awards, “an event which celebrates the outstanding achievements of composers, performers and educators in the dynamic fields of contemporary classical, jazz and experimental music”.

Awards in 11 national categories will be presented on Monday, August 26, at the NIDA Parade Theatre in Sydney.

Finalists in the Work of the Year: Jazz category are Marc Hannaford for his original piece Anda Two; Alice Humphries for The World Rushes On from her debut album; Sandy Evans for Meetings at the Table of Time — a musical exploration of Australian and Indian cultures — and jazz composer and musician Andrea Keller for Meditations on Light.

Among are finalists in the Performance of the Year category members of the Australian Art Orchestra and the Sruthi Laya Ensemble for their engaging performance of Sandy EvansMeetings at the Table of Time.

Jamie Oehlers is a finalist in the category of Award for Excellence in Jazz for recording, touring and educational achievements in 2012. He is joined by Quentin Angus for composition, performance and career development; Trichotomy for compositional performance and recording projects; and Jeremy Rose for excellence in jazz.

Congratulations to all the finalists.

Further information is available at the APRA AMCOS website and AMC.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s